Short Sharp Shocked

Widely considered one her finest records, 1988’s ‘Short Sharp Shocked’ features 10 folksy, autobiographical tunes. Also includes a cover of the track ‘Fog Town’ with a little help from the hardcore punk rock group (MDC, a.k.a. Millions of Dead Cops, Millions of Damn Christians and or Multi-Death Corporation).

The ’80s folk revival yielded a diversely talented generation, some reared on the aesthetic and ideology of punk, some on their ’60s singer-songwriter predecessors. They were looking for the directness of expression and connection with audience that stripped acoustic music promised. Michelle Shocked built an audience through her strident activist messages and raw, almost naked songs; she had the sincerity that the audience craved. Despite the militant cover–in which a cop is seen choking a protesting Shocked–the record is memorable for its reveries of childhood, its simple sense of hope, and Shocked’s minimalist guitar and hoarse, youthful voice. –Roy Francis Kasten

Track Listing
1. When I Grow Up
2. Hello Hopeville
3. Memories Of East Texas
4. (Making The Run To) Gladewater
5. Graffiti Limbo
6. If Love Was A Train
7. Anchorage
8. The L & N Don’t Stop Here Anymore
9. V.F.D.
10. Black Widow
11. Bonus Track